Joyous Joy 11: Appreciating Change

48 Days To The Work You Love by Dan Miller

48 Days To The Work You Love by Dan Miller

During my career transition, I’ve been reading a book called 48 Days to the Work You Love by Dan Miller. There are questions at the end of each chapter designed for the reader to reflect on its messages.

I knew that putting my thoughts on paper would help me get the most of the book – and it has. Last night, before I got started on Chapter 7, I decided to review my notes thus far. I came across an entry that really impressed me. I love impressing myself, so I thought I’d share it with all of you.

  1. Respond to , “All progress requires change, but not all change is progress”
  • Change is the only constant in life. All progress does indeed require change, but it is hard for me to dissect the next part of the statement. All change is not necessarily progress, but I know that everything that happens to me takes me in the direction to which I am meant to be.  So, just because a situation might seem like a setback, it may just be aligning me to the path in which I will follow and grow.

How do you feel about this statement? I would love to hear about it.

2 thoughts on “Joyous Joy 11: Appreciating Change

  1. I would say that Change, Death and Taxes are the only constant in life. But if you really want to get philosophical, you can easily argue that death is simply a change from one form to another…which then would leave us with two of the three constants.

    As to the second half the quote, not all change is progress, it might make more sense if you think about it in a larger context. Ethnic cleansing is change but can that be called progress? 8 years of George W was change but how much progress did we make? To bring it back to a smaller scale, a new CEO for a company is change but not necessarily progress. The new CEO could be ill fitted for the job and disrupt the existing company culture.

    • You make some excellent points here. It definitely depends on what kind/level of change we’re talking about. Do you think there is a way to define the categories?

Leave a Reply

