Joyous Joy 12: Quotes That Make Me Pause

I am always a bit speechless when I hear a brilliant quote. Anytime I discover one I think about what the message means to me. Quite often I realize that I already appreciate and utilize the wisdom, and other times, it becomes an epiphany that changes my outlook for the better. I found one today that made me stop in my tracks. I hope this is something you’ll choose to reflect upon too.

“We have been given two ears and but a single mouth in order that we may hear more and talk less.”

— Greek philosopher Zeno of Citium

I found this quote on a PR agency’s website. This is such a powerful statement and a motto that I think every communications agency and every person should consider. Truly listening during a discussion really opens doors to knowledge – and I have gained plenty of it throughout my life by understanding this gem of wisdom.

Do you have any profound quotes you’d like to share? I’d love to hear them.

7 thoughts on “Joyous Joy 12: Quotes That Make Me Pause

  1. I read this in a book the other day and really liked it:

    “It is not the critic who counts; not the man who points out how the strong man stumbles, or where the doer of deeds could have done them better. The credit belongs to the man who is actually in the arena, whose face is marred by dust and sweat and blood; who strives valiantly; who errs, who comes short again and again, because there is no effort without error and shortcoming; but who does actually strive to do the deeds; who knows great enthusiasms, the great devotions; who spends himself in a worthy cause; who at the best knows in the end the triumph of high achievement, and who at the worst, if he fails, at least fails while daring greatly, so that his place shall never be with those cold and timid souls who neither know victory nor defeat.” -President Theodore Roosevelt

  2. I saw one recently I liked:

    “Do not dwell in the past, do not dream of the future, concentrate the mind on the present moment. ”
    -Buddha

    It reminded me of an article I read recently that was so interesting. The article states that happiness is found by living in the now (given, particularly if the “now” involves sex, but the idea is sound) haha. Anyways, I feel like I pretty much daydream a lot of the day and am not particularly good at staying focused on what I am doing at this moment. I’m always dreading going to the gym after work, or thinking about the ten other things I need to get done today, tomorrow, this week, in the next few months, etc. Or multitasking to a point where its sometimes hard to finish one task because three more are already started. I think part of that is the environment of my work place, but much is in my control. So, I’m trying to focus on the “now” more. I was reading something unrelated to this study recently and saw the Buddha quote and was reminded of this article. Thought I’d share! 🙂

Leave a Reply

