Joyous Joy 40: What Do You Expect to Find?

My #1 joy today is that I am blogging — on here!

As you know, I’ve been managing another blog for about a month and have in turn not had much time for my own. This doesn’t mean that I’ve been overlooking the joys in my life, but it does mean that I miss writing about them.

This quote, by Abraham Lincoln, is a real gem in my opinion and I hope it makes you stop and consider your personal outlook on others.

“If you look for the bad in people expecting to find it, you surely will.”

This quote specifically makes me think about first impressions. Looking for the good in others comes naturally to me. With this as a default mindset, I’ve forged many relationships that may not have developed had I focused on an off-color comment they made or a selfish action. I instead am aware of traits like patience, generosity and positive thinking.

Everyone says things they wish they hadn’t and it is human nature to be selfish once in awhile. Taking that into consideration, setting it aside and looking for the good in them is a great exercise that leads to wonderful relationships – which in turn leads to a more joyous life.

What are the qualities you first notice when meeting others?

6 thoughts on “Joyous Joy 40: What Do You Expect to Find?

  1. The qualities I first notice are kindness and candor.

    But I wish to say that as much as I value your approach, one must be careful not to overlook potential red flags. (In case you haven’t noticed, one of my Joyous Joys is being a contrarian!)

  2. Hi Paul – thanks so much for your comment! One thing I deleted before publishing is that although I am often praised for seeing the good in others, I am also sometimes scolded by friends and family for not paying attention to the negative attitudes and actions that can harm me. Therefore, I totally agree with you, but I still prefer my default 🙂

    • Hi Benejamen,

      Thanks for the compliment 🙂 Truth be told, my friend Robert built it for me in exchange for career advice 🙂

      Want me to put you in touch with him? I am sure he does it as side work.

      Best,
      Kate

      p.s. I tried to email you and it bounced back.

Leave a Reply

