Joyous Joy 41: Happy Birthday to The Queens Kickshaw! (and thanks for making the best grilled cheese on the planet)

As some of you know, I am the quintessential social butterfly and love planning and attending events. Nothing brings out the best in me like throwing an amazing party, meeting new people and of course spending time with friends. I recently went to the 1st Birthday Party of The Queens Kickshaw, a fabulous restaurant/bar in my neighborhood.

The rustic meets hip bar area of The Queens Kickshaw – Photo by John Tyson

This place is a labor of love for husband and wife team Ben Sandler and Jennifer Lim. They have been living in Astoria for over 4 years, and wanted to create a place and community that reflected their love for the neighborhood, and their passions for good food and drink.

Power couple – Jen & Ben – Photo by Stella Dacuma Schour

Among other menu items, they serve coffees, teas, pastries, the best grilled cheese sandwiches you may ever have, craft ales, and cider.

I’ve been there twice and both times couldn’t resist ordering their Great Hill Blue grilled cheese, made with prune jam and fresh pear on cranberry-walnut bread.

Photo by Noah Devereaux

It’s the kind of meal that actually leaves ME speechless. I can do nothing but devour it.

That sandwich was my ultimate joy of March 29, 2012.

Along with a toast and these scrumptious little cheesecake cups they also had a Brazilian band play!

Check out the accordion! – Photo by Justin “Squigs” Robertson

If you’re interested in checking the joint out, I suggest you take a look at their event list (especially if you love live music).

I am sure the next time I go there, I will cave under pressure while ordering and choose that sandwich once again. This is officially my first forecasted joy!

Do you have any forecasted joys?

3 thoughts on “Joyous Joy 41: Happy Birthday to The Queens Kickshaw! (and thanks for making the best grilled cheese on the planet)

  1. Oh, I love that concept: forecasted joy! Yes, I have these, and like you, some of them involve favorite foods. I think expressing anticipation with this term is better than saying what you look forward to…although both phrases express anticipation, any phrase that includes the word “joy” is always going to win out in my book! ~ Sheila

Leave a Reply

