Joyous Joy 42: Who’s Your Biggest Fan?

This is my very favorite photo of Papa Forster and me, his “Porkchop.” Fabulous nickname, right? I actually love it!

There are plenty of people who cheerlead me through life. I am grateful for each and every one of them, but when it comes down to it, there is one fan I couldn’t live without. This person is by far my biggest fan – he is my Dad.

He was simply born to be a Dad. He is generous with his love and encouragement. He is a patient teacher, a voice of reason and tells me how proud he is of me almost every time we talk.

When the sky seems to be falling, he knows how to calm me down and put things into perspective. When I am elated about something, he truly shares my joy.When I am struggling with something and feeling defeated, he always tells me to never give up, dust myself off and move forward. This mantra helps me overcome life’s challenges and not let them keep me “down for the count.”

He has been especially supportive through my job search. His complete faith in me and my ability to find my dream job has really kept me going.

This post was inspired by his last two comments. They were the first things I read this morning. It was such a joyous way to start my day.

  • “My biggest joy is you.”
  • “I always love reading your posts. You bring so much joy to so many people. I love you, Dad.”

This previous comment is another common piece of his advice. This outlook has definitely helped me navigate life.

  • “You can’t change the past, but you sure can change the future.”

Thanks, Dad. I am so very lucky to have you. I love you more than you’ll ever know.

Who’s your biggest fan and why?

9 thoughts on “Joyous Joy 42: Who’s Your Biggest Fan?

  1. This post is so sweet, it made me smile. Mine would be my 84-year-old Grandpa. He always says how proud he is of me and while he may be my biggest fan, he is my biggest hero. I am so grateful for him!

    • Thanks, Lauren! Glad it made you smile. I am just waiting for him to read it – I want it to be a surprise 🙂 Thanks as well for sharing with us who your biggest fan is. My late grandma remains on my roster. Grandparents are great and it is good to be grateful for them 🙂

  2. This is by far my favorite post. Maybe because it makes me smile as I agree, you have an amazing dad. It also makes me think of my own and how much I miss him.

    • Awww, thanks! I do have an amazing Dad, right?! Your Dad was positively amazing too. I am so glad I had the chance to bond with him some more towards the end. That man always put a smile on my face 🙂 and there is no doubt in my mind that he was your biggest fan 🙂

      p.s. did you notice that the pic I used was taken at your wedding? You and Chad had one of the best weddings I’ve ever been to!

  3. What a lovely post! You and your father are both fortunate to have such a wonderful father/daughter relationship. I lost my dad about four years ago and I miss him a lot. Thank you for sharing! ~ Sheila

    • Hi Sheila! So great to hear from you! I just checked out your blog (and commented on the Key West post). Being on there reminded me that I haven’t seen any posts from you in my inbox lately…it appears that I somehow was unsubscribed??? So, I just resubscribed and am looking forward to hearing more about your life 🙂

Leave a Reply

