Joyous Joy 47: Forgiving Oneself

forgivenessI recently read a blog post about forgiveness, specifically about forgiving oneself.

  • Have you ever done something terrible to another and carried a seemingly endless amount of guilt? I have…
  • Carelessly done something wrong and resented your actions while dealing with the consequences? I have…
  • Didn’t try your hardest and felt an overwhelming sense of disappointment in yourself? I have…

I have done all of these things

  • I’ve cheated on a boyfriend who was very good to me.
  • I’ve avoided managing my finances and overdrew my account.
  • I’ve prioritized my social life over school work and received poor grades.

These were all things that I needed to forgive myself for. How did I do it?

  • I gave a sincere apology to him (albeit a decade later).
  • I learned my lesson and came up with an easy, less daunting way to sort out my budget.
  • I stopped defining myself by my college GPA.

The joy that forgiveness brings is beautiful, specifically when you’re forgiving yourself.

Is there anything you’re beating yourself up over? Any disappointment in yourself you have yet to let go?

I encourage you to do what you can to set things straight and if that isn’t possible, realize that it doesn’t define you.

5 thoughts on “Joyous Joy 47: Forgiving Oneself

  1. I find that forgiving oneself is one of the hardest things to do sometimes, but one of the most freeing. Thank you for the reminder that we all need to forgive ourselves.

    • Forgiveness seems to be a theme in my blog. This post made me realize that. Thanks for thanking you for the reminder. These posts help me remind myself too.

  2. You know, I like to think of my younger self as a separate person. That Sheila was less knowledgeable, less confident, etc…and didn’t always make the best choices, even when the intention was good. I find that when I think of the past versions of me like I think of my kids…I see their mistakes, but I see their youth and their circumstances too…I am able to recognize that in many ways, I was doing the best I could at the time. Life helps the maturing process! I can acknowledge past mistakes and immaturity. Makes me wonder what I’ll be forgiving my 50 year old self for when I’m 80!
    Thank you for your honesty and for the thought provoking post! And good to know you’ve forgiven yourself! ~ Sheila

    • I absolutely love your outlook on this. I’ve never really given myself a break with the understanding that I was much younger when I made these decisions. This makes me feel even better about my personal forgiveness. Thanks so much for adding an important layer I overlooked. This is a joy 🙂

  3. Great post – what’s done is done and you are the only one that can change it. It takes a lot to admit that you made a mistake and your the only one who can make it right, I taught you well. love dad

Leave a Reply

