Joyous Joy 52: Star Charts Make Me Happy

Ever since I was a little girl I would squeal with glee when awarded with a sticker for a job well done – especially the shiny stars my Mom gave me for my Star Chart. It made me LOVE to do my chores and homework – I wanted as many stars as I could get!

My excel version doesn't look quite as festive as this, but once the stars start piling on - it will be beautiful!

My excel version doesn’t look quite as festive as this, but once the stars start piling on – it will be beautiful!

I had completely forgotten how much fun a simple reward system can be. It wasn’t until I started dating an amazing guy a few months ago that I remembered the joy it brings me. When we met, I was honest with him about dating multiple men. He was obviously up for the challenge of winning me over, because he succeeded.

It is very uncharacteristic of me to date multiple people, and it was becoming quite the distraction. I knew I needed to sort through these great guys, and determine the one who was most worthy of my time and affections. And this is how the point system began.Every time one of them did something wonderful they got a point. Something respectful – POINT! Something helpful – POINT! The wonderful guy who won in the end actually earned 5 POINTS at my holiday party. He could see how exhausted I was, and insisted that I sit down and relax while he and a good friend packed away food, scrubbed dishes and swept up the inevitable broken glass left from a successful soiree.

Then it started…the jealousy… I wanted points too! That is why I have started my very own (all grown up) star chart – which involves having to blog on here at least once per week. Maybe a silly little star is all I’ve needed to stay on track with sharing my joys on a regular basis?

Do you have a similar reward system for yourself? If yes – I am sending a point, or a star or WHATEVER your way!

7 thoughts on “Joyous Joy 52: Star Charts Make Me Happy

  1. Oh, too funny! I tell my husband all the time that I want a star on my chart! Or sometimes, if I feel especially deserving, I tell him I need a whole planet on the chart! I’m a big believer in rewards at any age. And how great that you helped yourself with a difficult decision of who to date by using a chart! Good for you! And I hope your relationship goes well and that you both continue to add stars (or planets!) to your charts! ~ Sheila

      • What a lovely thing to say! And it is mutual….the best part of blogging is finding kindred spirits, don’t you think? Happy Friday! ~ Sheila

      • And I JUST posted on your blog! LOL! Happy Friday to you too!

        * *

        *Want a pick-me-up from time to time*? Follow my blog: www. joyousjoys.wordpress.com to hear about the wonderful things happening in my life – and I’d love to hear about yours!

  2. Pingback: Joyous Joy 60: How Often is Too Often to Spread Joy? | joyousjoys

  3. Pingback: Joyous Joy 61: Sometimes You Just Need to be Overwhelmed | joyousjoys

Leave a Reply

