Joyous Joy 61: Sometimes You Just Need to be Overwhelmed

Trudging through a more than hectic schedule these last few weeks is finally catching up with me.  I started feeling overwhelmed on Monday, so I decided to…

Love this quote!

Love this quote!

1. STOP

2. MAKE A LIST OF MY COMMITMENTS & PROJECTS

3. PUT ON MY THINKING CAP

4. FIGURE OUT HOW TO WORK SMARTER, NOT HARDER (my 2013 mantra)

Thanks to my handy star chart I had a great resource to capture a clearer picture of my constant to-do’s. Which tasks were stressing me out the most? Could I live without doing some of them so often? The answer is of course, yes.

For example, instead of worrying about when I can find time to journal each week, I’ve decided to just let it happen when it happens.

And guess what happened? I ended up journaling every single day this week during my coffee date with Baby, the kitty cat, I’ve been taking care of for my friend. I find myself happily scribbling my thoughts between each sip – and wondering why it took me so long to take this approach.

This week I have also been taking care of another kitty in The Bronx. Little Lucy Lou unfortunately has no teeth; weird I know. This means I need to actually be there to feed her wet food. As taxing as this commuting back and forth has been, it has given me the opportunity to get a lot of reading done & write a couple blog posts.

Although I have tried to look on the bright side of things, I have been seriously struggling with the fact that I simply haven’t had the ability to be as productive as usual.

I can’t recall the last time I have been this stressed out; and then it came to me. There is a reason I am in this predicament. The universe is actually tryin’ to help a sista out!

It has forced me to get out of the minutia of my everyday tasks…and meetings…and networking events…(and the list goes on). I took a step back and got a more strategic view of my Grand Plan’s to-do list. This has allowed me to rethink my approach to accomplishing my long list of goals.

I am happy to say that I have gained clarity & am REVISING my plan in a more strategic way that allows me to maximize my time & stay sane (and healthy).

Do you have a strategic plan for your life goals? When is the last time you took a step back to evaluate its efficiency? 

I highly encourage you to do so soon. It’s like Spring Cleaning for your life ambitions!

5 thoughts on “Joyous Joy 61: Sometimes You Just Need to be Overwhelmed

  1. I feel like I’m frequently hitting this wall…working, trying to develop a site for an online writing/resource business, keeping all my personal life needs balanced, travel…very overwhelming! Yes, sometimes it does force me to reconsider my priorities. Can be a useful exercise to determine what’s really important! ~ Sheila

  2. my life coach once told me… when I guiltily confessed I was gorging on TV- that I might need to put TV time/ down time INTO my schedule…. when I did this, I found that knowing there was guilt free time to do it… I was less pulled by it overall.

  3. Pingback: Joyous Joy 62: The ONLY Circumstance that the Holocaust Could Bring Joy | joyousjoys

Leave a Reply

