Joyous Joy 65: My 5 Favorite Things about a Rainy Day

Hundreds of people waited in line with hopes that the rain wouldn't ruin their Googa Mooga fun

Hundreds of people waited in line with hopes that the rain wouldn’t ruin their Googa Mooga fun

Sure, rain can be a huge bummer when it bombards it’s way into our lives at inopportune times. Sometimes it even ruins events, like it recently did for Googa Mooga in Brooklyn a few weeks ago.

But rain doesn’t always have to be a bummer — if you don’t let it be! 

Even plants love baths! Think how refreshing it is for them!

Even plants love baths! Think how refreshing it is for them!

Here are my favorite “silver linings” about a rainy day:

  1. At least the city is getting a bath – NYC can always use one!
  2. It gives me a reason to stay in for the day and power through my to-do list – in my jammies!
  3. A thunderstorm can bring romantic magic to a first date (as I experienced for the first time last week)
  4. It gives you an excuse to stay in on a Friday night with a good friend & a bottle of wine (BONUS: you have a relaxing soundtrack – and it’s surround-sound!)
  5. You can look forward to celebrating the sunshine that always ends up following sooner or later!

Bonus: Whenever I see a fun umbrella, I think of an old post, Joyous Joy 14: Finding the Sunshine on a Rainy Day which always makes me smile 🙂

How does rain bring you joy?

2 thoughts on “Joyous Joy 65: My 5 Favorite Things about a Rainy Day

  1. I like your list! I have to say, though, living in a rain forest in SE Alaska has changed my perspective a bit! I love rain in a “normal” climate, where you get a shower (or even a downpour) now and then…but 13+ FEET of rain a year is a little too much of a good thing! But this is a good reminder to look on the bright side. 🙂 ~ Sheila

Leave a Reply

