Joyous Joy 77: Finding the Joy in Being “Ugly”

I will never forget how far my jaw dropped and how many tears filled my eyes when a previous manager referred to me as her personal Ugly Betty. Looking back I think the situation is funny, but 6 years ago it crushed me.

Snipping away at a magazine, this lovely 2-sided collage was a definite joy inducer.

Snipping away at a magazine, this lovely 2-sided collage was a definite joy inducer.

My manager had put me in charge of monitoring her email while she was on vacation. When her friend responded to an email in which she referred to me as her personal Ugly Betty I was crushed.

I had finally gotten over the Ricky Lake comparison I’ve got for years and now UGLY BETTY! I of course told all my friends about this incident and received the sympathy I was seeking.

Last night I was digging through a box and came across this collage my amazing friend Erin Brazil made to cheer me up. It’s fabulous, just as she is!

I love this side of the collage!!!

I love this side of the collage!!!

I’d like to think that 6 years later my skin is thick enough to not let a situation like this rattle my emotions. I sure hope so!

Anyone ever compare you to someone that made you cry? LOL

One thought on “Joyous Joy 77: Finding the Joy in Being “Ugly”

  1. Oh my gosh! Kate, I never heard that story. That is just horrible and speaks volumes about your prior manager’s lack of professionalism. You are beautiful both inside and out- don’t let anyone ever tell you differently.

Leave a Reply

